Skip to content
Head to head · Verified 17 September 2026

Exa vs Tavily

Exa

Best for semantic discovery

A search engine with its own index, where the flat rate covers ten results and every result beyond that is billed.

$7 / 1,000 searches

Pay as you go, ten results with text

Tavily

Best for crawl and extract pipelines

A retrieval layer billed by the call, so twenty results cost what ten do, and the depth setting is what doubles the bill.

$8 / 1,000 searches

Pay as you go, basic depth, $0.008 a credit

Short answer

It depends on how many results your agent reads per query, and the crossover is sharp. At ten results with page text, Exa costs $7 per 1,000 searches on pay as you go and Tavily $8 at basic depth. Tavily is 14% dearer there.

Ask for twenty results and the order flips. Exa adds $1 per 1,000 for every result past ten, so the same call costs $17 per 1,000. Tavily still charges one credit, which makes it less than half the price.

Two settings push Tavily the other way. Advanced depth costs two credits, or $16 per 1,000, and Tavily's agent guide recommends it for discovery and high-confidence answers. A fully used Growth plan pulls basic search down to $5 per 1,000, which undercuts Exa at steady volume.

So do not choose from either homepage. Log a week of real calls, note the result count and depth each one used, and price that mix on both. If a client will ever ask where retrieved content came from, settle the index question below first, because it can decide this before price does.

Key takeaways
  • 01At ten results with page text, Exa costs $7 per 1,000 searches and Tavily $8 at basic depth, both on pay as you go.
  • 02At twenty results the order flips: Exa charges $17 per 1,000 and Tavily still charges $8.
  • 03Tavily's advanced depth doubles the credit, and Tavily's own agent guide recommends it for discovery and high-confidence answers.
  • 04Exa states that it runs its own index; Tavily's documentation says it aggregates up to 20 sites a call without naming the source.
  • 05Nebius agreed to buy Tavily on 10 February 2026 and says the deal is done; Exa raised a $250 million Series C on 20 May 2026.

Exa vs Tavily is the choice a developer makes when an agent or a retrieval pipeline needs the live web. Both return page text with the search rather than bare links. Both ship an official MCP server, and both publish their rates in dollars on their own sites.

On the feature lists they look close. On the invoice they behave differently, because they count different things. Exa charges per request for up to ten results, then per result beyond that. Tavily charges per call in credits, whether the call returns five results or twenty, and doubles the charge at advanced depth.

So the cheaper vendor is not a fixed answer. It moves with two settings most comparison tables never mention: how many results you ask for, and how deep you ask Tavily to search. This page prices the same workloads on both, so you can see where the line falls for yours.

The second axis is provenance. Exa says it builds and runs its own index, and documents a crawler that site owners can control. Tavily's documentation describes gathering and ranking sources without naming where they come from. For a side project that rarely matters. For a pipeline a client audits, it can.

Every price below is the US price in dollars, read from each vendor's own pricing page and documentation on 17 September 2026. Nothing is converted from another currency. Every ratio is computed from the published rates, and the one assumption the arithmetic makes is stated under the cost table.

Side by side

Exa vs Tavily, side by side

Every value in the first block comes from the same record that drives the directory listing, so this table cannot disagree with the cards. Accented tags are capabilities one side has and the other does not.

 
What it is
A search engine for AI with its own index, sold per request in dollars. $7 per 1,000 searches includes page content for ten results, and asking for more results is what raises the bill.
A web access API for AI agents covering search, extract, map, crawl and research, billed in credits. One credit buys a basic search, five extracted pages or ten mapped URLs.
API access from
$7 per 1,000 searches. Up to 10 results with contents; each extra result $1 per 1,000
$0.008 per credit. Pay as you go. Plans from $30/mo for 4,000 credits, down to $0.005 a credit on Growth
Free tier
$20 credit at sign-up, then $10 a month
1,000 credits a month, no card, plus keyless Search and Extract
How it bills
Pay as you go, Subscription, Free
Credit packs, Pay as you go, Subscription, Free
Data covered
Content & SERP features, Competitor & traffic
Content & SERP features, Competitor & traffic
Built for
SaaS & product teams, Solo SEOs & consultants, In-house marketing teams
SaaS & product teams, Solo SEOs & consultants, In-house marketing teams
MCP server
Yes
Yes
Search, pay as you go
$7 / 1,000, up to ten results with text
$8 / 1,000 basic, $16 / 1,000 advanced
Lowest self-serve search rate
$7 / 1,000; discounts on Enterprise only
$5 / 1,000 basic on Growth, $500 / mo
Monthly plans
None; prepaid dollar balance
$30, $100, $220 and $500 / mo
Results per search
10 by default, up to 100; 1,000 on Enterprise
Up to 20
Cost of results past ten
$1 / 1,000 for each extra result
No extra charge up to 20
Page content with search
Text or highlights for ten results included
Snippet chunks by default; full page on request, no surcharge in the credit rules
Search modes
instant, fast, auto, deep-lite, deep, deep-reasoning
ultra-fast, fast, basic, advanced
Reading known URLs
Contents, $1 / 1,000 pages per content type, 100 URLs a call
Extract, $1.60 / 1,000 pages basic, $3.20 advanced, 20 URLs a call
Mapping a site's URLs
No endpoint
Map, $0.80 / 1,000 URLs, $1.60 with instructions
Crawling a site
Up to 100 subpages per URL on Contents
Crawl, depth 1 to 5, mapping plus extraction cost
Failed requests
Not addressed in the pricing docs
Failed extractions and maps are not charged
Cited research
Agent, $0.012 to $1.00 per fixed-effort run
Research, 4 to 250 credits, $0.032 to $2.00
Free allowance
$20 at sign-up, then $10 a month, about 1,400 searches
1,000 credits a month, 1,000 basic searches
Free-tier rate limit
10 requests a second, 600 a minute
100 requests a minute
Paid rate limit
10 a second; 25 for 90 days after a $1,000 top-up
1,000 a minute; Crawl 100, Research 20
When credit runs out
HTTP 402 until you top up or auto recharge fires
Requests stop unless pay as you go is on
Cost reported per call
costDollars estimate on each response
Credits used, with include_usage
Keyless access
Hosted MCP server at a free rate limit
Search and Extract, by API and MCP
Pay per call in USDC (x402)
Search and Contents, $0.007 a search, ten results maximum
Advanced search only, $0.01 a call
Where results come from
Its own index; 1.4 trillion URLs tracked, per Exa
Aggregates up to 20 sites a call; source not stated
Crawler controls for site owners
ExaSearchBot, honours robots.txt and noindex
Not documented in the pages read
Specialist search
Company, people, publication, news and financial report categories
General, news and finance topics
Ownership
Independent; $250m Series C, 20 May 2026
Nebius; agreement announced 10 February 2026
Cost modelling

The same workload, priced both ways

Eight workloads, priced the same way on both at the published pay-as-you-go rates unless a row names a plan. The trap in most comparisons of these two is setting $7 against $0.008 as though they measured the same thing. One is a price per request for ten results. The other is a price per credit, and a credit is not always a request.

Workload
Exa
Tavily
Difference
10,000 searches a month, ten results, full page text
$70.00
$80.00 at basic depth
Exa by $10.00; Tavily costs 1.14 times as much
10,000 grounded answers, five sources each, as each agent guide describes
$70.00: one auto search with highlights
$240.00: advanced search, then Extract on the five
Exa by 3.43 times; the guided Tavily pattern costs three credits
10,000 searches, twenty results each, full page text
$170.00, at $0.017 a search
$80.00 basic, $160.00 advanced
Tavily by 2.1 times at basic, and still by $10.00 at advanced
10,000 searches, fifty results each
$470.00, at $0.047 a search
Not possible in one call; the ceiling is 20
Only Exa returns fifty without splitting the query
Read 10,000 known URLs as full text
$10.00 on Contents
$16.00 on Extract basic, $32.00 advanced
Exa by 1.6 times at basic depth
Map and read one 1,000-page site
No map endpoint; $1.00 on Contents once you hold the URLs
$2.40 on Crawl: $0.80 mapping, $1.60 extraction
Tavily finds the URLs for you; Exa needs them handed over
1,000 cited research runs
$12.00 to $1,000.00 on Agent, fixed by effort
$32.00 to $880.00 on mini, $120.00 to $2,000.00 on pro
Exa's price is known before the run; Tavily's lands inside a range
100,000 searches a month, ten results with text
$700.00
$500.00 on Growth, $800.00 pay as you go
Tavily by $200.00 on a plan it fills; Exa by $100.00 against pay as you go

Rates read 17 September 2026 from exa.ai/pricing and tavily.com/pricing through a US connection, and from both vendors' documentation. Exa: $7 per 1,000 searches of up to ten results with text, $1 per 1,000 extra results, $1 per 1,000 Contents pages. Tavily: $0.008 a credit, one per basic search, two per advanced, one per five extracted or ten mapped pages. Free allowances are excluded. Extra-result rows assume Exa's rate covers that result's text.

On currency

Both vendors publish their rates in US dollars, and every figure here is the rate a US buyer sees. A second read from a connection outside the US showed the same dollar figures on both pages, so neither appears to price by region. Nothing is converted. Tax and card handling can still change what lands on a statement outside the US, so confirm the total at checkout.

Before you sign either

Where the pricing page and the invoice come apart

Not a list of limitations, which every comparison already carries. These are the five places where the published price is not the price you end up paying.

  • Exa

    Asking for more results is what raises an Exa bill

    Exa's $7 per 1,000 covers ten results. Every result past ten adds $1 per 1,000, so a 20-result call costs $0.017 and a 100-result call $0.097, 13.9 times the ten-result price. The default is ten, but a framework or a copied example that sets numResults to 50 quietly multiplies the invoice. Read costDollars on each response in development, and set the count on purpose.

  • Tavily

    Tavily's recommended pattern costs three times the headline

    Tavily's agent guide recommends advanced depth for discovery and high-confidence answers, at two credits, and then Extract for full page content. Five sources handled that way cost three credits, or $24 per 1,000 answers on pay as you go. The auto_parameters option can also switch a query to advanced by itself. Set search_depth explicitly, and price the pattern your calls actually use.

  • Tavily

    Tavily plan credits reset on the first, whatever day you paid

    Tavily resets monthly allowances on the first day of each calendar month, regardless of billing date. Its pricing page calls that a clean slate, so unused credits do not carry forward. When credits run out, requests stop unless pay as you go is switched on. Production keys, at 1,000 requests a minute, also need a paid plan or pay as you go.

  • Exa

    Exa's own pages disagree on what a second content view costs

    Exa's March 2026 pricing note says text and highlights for ten results are included in the $7. Its current search guide says requesting both returns and bills two views of the same page. On the Contents endpoint the rule is plain: each content type is billed per page, so text plus highlights counts twice. Pick one view per request and check costDollars before scaling.

  • Both

    Both research products meter by default

    Exa's Agent defaults to auto effort, which meters compute and search calls up to a $5 cap per run unless you lower it. Tavily Research bills between 4 and 250 credits a request, depending on the model and the work done. That is up to $2.00 a call on pay as you go. Pick a fixed Exa effort, or cap Tavily calls in your own code, before exposing either to users.

Provenance

Where the results come from, and which vendor says

Exa states plainly that it builds and runs its own search index. Its documentation says that as of August 2026 the index tracks 1.4 trillion URLs and serves 100 billion pages. Its crawler, ExaSearchBot, follows robots.txt and drops pages marked noindex after its next fetch. Those are Exa's own figures, and the crawler is specific enough to find in your server logs.

Tavily's documentation describes a different mechanism. Its about page says the Search API aggregates up to 20 sites per call and uses proprietary AI to score, filter and rank them. It does not say which index or engines supply those sites, and I could not find that stated anywhere in the pages I read.

Neither approach is wrong, and I would not infer quality from either. What differs is what you can tell somebody who asks where an answer came from. With Exa you can name the index and the crawler. With Tavily you can name the vendor and its ranking step, and nothing below that.

The consequence shows up in results. Because Exa ranks its own index with its own models, its results are meant to differ from a Google search. One r/Rag commenter reported it missing forum and Reddit pages that Google would surface. Test both against the queries your agent really sends, not against a benchmark either vendor published.

The question to ask first

A client, an auditor or your own legal team may one day ask where retrieved content came from. Decide whether 'the vendor ranked it' is an acceptable answer before you compare prices.

Unit economics

The result count is the whole pricing argument

The two price lists look as though they measure the same thing, and they do not. Exa's $7 per 1,000 is a price per request that covers up to ten results with their text. Tavily's $0.008 is a price per credit, and a basic search costs one credit whether it returns five results or twenty.

That makes ten results the pivot. Below ten, Exa still charges the full $7, so a five-result call costs the same as a ten-result one. Above ten, Exa adds $1 per 1,000 for each extra result, and Tavily adds nothing until its ceiling of 20. At twenty results Exa costs $17 per 1,000 against Tavily's $8.

Plans move the line again. Tavily's Growth plan is $500 for 100,000 credits, which is $5 per 1,000 basic searches if you use them all. Exa has no monthly plan and publishes no self-serve discount, so its $7 holds until an Enterprise contract. At 100,000 ten-result searches a month, that is $700 against $500.

The catch is the word all. Tavily's plans only beat Exa's flat rate once they are mostly used: past about 95% of the credits on Bootstrap, 83% on Startup and 71% on Growth. Project, at $30 for 4,000 credits, never does, because $7.50 per 1,000 sits above Exa's rate even when full.

So an Exa pricing vs Tavily pricing decision is really a question about your own traffic. A steady, predictable volume at basic depth favours a Tavily plan. Uneven volume at ten results a call favours Exa's pay as you go. Anything that needs more than ten results favours Tavily, until it needs more than twenty.

The pivot, per 1,000 searches

Ten results with text: Exa $7, Tavily $8. Twenty results: Exa $17, Tavily $8. Advanced depth takes Tavily to $16 at either count. A full Growth plan takes Tavily basic to $5.

Known URLs

Reading a site you already know about

Search is half the job for most pipelines. The other half is reading pages you already have, or every page on a site. Here the two products are shaped differently, not just priced differently.

Tavily sells that as three endpoints. Map follows links from a root URL and returns the site's URLs at one credit per ten. Extract reads up to 20 URLs a call at one credit per five pages. Crawl combines the two, up to five levels deep, so a 1,000-page site costs 300 credits, or $2.40 on pay as you go.

Tavily also states that failed extractions and failed map requests are not charged. That matters more than it sounds on a crawl of an old site, where some URLs are likely to time out or return errors.

Exa has no map endpoint. Its Contents endpoint reads up to 100 known URLs a request at $1 per 1,000 pages for each content type. It can also follow up to 100 subpages from each starting URL. With the URLs in hand, reading 1,000 pages costs $1.00. Finding them is your job, or a search's.

Freshness is more explicit on Exa. Contents takes a maxAgeHours value, running from always fetching live to cache only, with a timeout on the live fetch. Tavily's Extract offers a basic depth and an advanced one that retrieves tables and embedded content at double the credit, plus a timeout. Its reference lists no cache-age setting.

Where each one fits

If the work starts from a domain, Tavily hands you the URL list and the text in one job. If it starts from a list of URLs you already trust, Exa reads them for less.

Rate limits

Requests a second against requests a minute

The two vendors publish limits in different units, which makes them easy to misread side by side. Exa counts queries per second across your whole team. Tavily counts requests per minute by key type. Converted to one unit, the gap runs in both directions depending on the plan.

On the free tiers Exa is far looser. Its free accounts get 10 search requests a second, which is 600 a minute. Tavily's free keys are development keys capped at 100 a minute, a sixth of that. For a prototype that fans out many parallel searches, the difference arrives on the first afternoon.

Paid, the order changes. A Tavily production key allows 1,000 requests a minute, about 16.7 a second, once a paid plan or pay as you go is enabled. Exa's pay-as-you-go default stays at 10 a second. It rises to 25 for 90 days after you buy $1,000 of credit within any 30-day window. Beyond that, both send you to sales.

The endpoint limits matter as much as the headline. Exa holds the deep search types to 5 a second and lets Contents run at 100. Tavily holds Crawl to 100 a minute and Research task creation to 20, on every key. Both document an HTTP 429 response with a Retry-After header where one is sent.

Converted to requests a minute

Free: Exa 600, Tavily 100. Paid by default: Exa 600, Tavily 1,000. Exa after a $1,000 top-up: 1,500 for 90 days.

Deep research

A fixed price per run against a credit range

Both vendors now sell something bigger than a search: an agent that plans queries, reads sources and returns a cited answer. The prices look comparable at a glance. The real difference is when you find out what a run cost.

Exa sells two versions. Deep search types on the search endpoint cost $12 per 1,000 for deep-lite and deep, and $15 for deep-reasoning. The Agent endpoint, launched in June 2026, runs longer jobs. At a fixed effort it costs a set price per run: $0.012, $0.025, $0.10, $0.50 or $1.00. Choose the effort and you know the bill before the call.

Tavily Research bills a range instead. The mini model takes between 4 and 110 credits a request, and pro between 15 and 250. A pro run therefore lands somewhere from $0.12 to $2.00 on pay as you go. You learn the exact figure from usage reporting afterwards.

Exa's default, though, is not fixed. Agent runs default to auto effort, which meters compute at $0.10 a unit and search calls at $0.005 each. Each run is capped at $5 by default. So the predictable Exa price is one you have to select. Left on its default, Exa's worst case per run is higher than Tavily's $2.00 ceiling.

For a user-facing research feature

Put a hard ceiling in code on either. On Exa, a fixed effort or a lower per-run cap. On Tavily, the mini model where it is good enough, and a limit on calls per user.

Ownership

An acquired vendor against a newly funded one

Nebius, the Amsterdam-based AI cloud company listed on Nasdaq, announced an agreement to acquire Tavily on 10 February 2026. It expected the deal to close within weeks. Its own blog of 20 May 2026 states that Nebius has acquired Tavily. Nebius did not disclose the price, so I do not state one.

Nebius said Tavily would keep its brand and that its founder and chief executive, Rotem Weiss, would continue to lead the product. Nebius positions Tavily beside its own inference service. Nothing on Tavily's pricing page or in its credit documentation, as read on 17 September 2026, refers to the acquisition.

Exa is independent and newly funded. Its own post of 20 May 2026 announced a $250 million Series C at a $2.2 billion valuation, led by a16z. That is capital for building an index, which is the expensive thing Exa does.

Exa's API surface has moved more in the last six months. It retired the /research endpoint in April 2026 in favour of the deep-reasoning search type. In July it began deprecating the pdf, github and tweet search categories. Tavily's changelog over the same months lists additions and no deprecations. Pin your SDK version on either, and read the changelog before upgrading.

Neither story is a reason to avoid either vendor, and an Exa vs Tavily comparison that called one of them safe would be overreaching. Both stories are reasons to keep retrieval behind an interface you could repoint, which is cheap on day one and expensive later.

The decision

Pick each one when

Exa

  • Your agent reads ten results or fewer per query and your volume is uneven.
  • Discovery is the job: pages, people, companies or papers a keyword query misses.
  • You need a fixed price per research run, or more than twenty results from one call.

Tavily

  • You want up to twenty results a call without paying for the extra ten.
  • The work starts from domains you know and needs mapping and crawling as well as search.
  • Your volume is steady enough to fill a monthly plan, where basic search falls to $5 per 1,000.
In practice

How this plays out once it is running

Start the Tavily vs Exa decision from your agent's logs rather than from either homepage. Count how many results each call asks for, and at what depth. Those two numbers decide the invoice more than any benchmark does, and most teams have never looked at either.

A chat assistant that grounds each answer in the top five to ten pages is the common case. It favours Exa on pay as you go. That is $7 per 1,000 against $8 at Tavily's basic depth, or $16 if the integration follows Tavily's agent guide and searches at advanced depth.

A research pipeline that wants twenty sources a query favours Tavily by more than two to one at basic depth, for as long as twenty is enough. A list builder that wants fifty or a hundred results a query can only get them in one call from Exa. It should budget $0.047 or $0.097 a call.

The pattern I would expect most often is a team that took a framework's default search tool and never revisited its settings. Exa vs Tavily is, for that team, a question about two parameters nobody chose on purpose. Fixing them is usually worth more than switching.

The counter-case is volume. At a steady 100,000 searches a month, a Tavily Growth plan at $500 undercuts Exa's $700, and it keeps Map and Crawl on the same balance. If your traffic is that predictable, the plan wins on price and the provenance question becomes the one to settle.

Running both is a reasonable answer too. One commenter in the long-running r/Rag thread on this choice says they split their workflows between the two. Use Exa where discovery is the job and Tavily where the work starts from a known domain, and route between them in code.

The honest part

What neither Exa nor Tavily does

  • Neither tells you where a page ranks on Google. Exa ranks its own index and Tavily ranks its own selection of sources, so neither can report positions, ads or SERP features. For that you need a SERP API, and its answer will differ from both by design.
  • Neither gives you a freshness figure to design around. Exa lets you force a live fetch per page, and Tavily lets you filter results by published date. Neither publishes how often a given page is re-crawled. If yesterday's price matters, fetch it live and accept the latency.
  • Neither lists a service-level agreement on its self-serve plans. SLAs are an Enterprise feature on both, so a pay-as-you-go integration needs its own retries, timeouts and a fallback path, whichever vendor it calls.
  • Neither checks what your model does with the text. Exa's FAQ says the application and its language model remain responsible for how retrieved content is interpreted. The same is true of Tavily, whether or not its documentation says so.
  • Neither decides what the agent should look for. A well-priced search that retrieves the wrong twenty pages is still twenty wrong pages. The query design, the source allow-list and the check on the final answer are your work on both.

FAQ

Frequently asked

  • Is Exa cheaper than Tavily?
    At ten results with page text, yes, on pay as you go. Exa charges $7 per 1,000 searches, against $8 at Tavily's basic depth and $16 at advanced. At twenty results it reverses, because Exa adds $1 per 1,000 for each extra result and Tavily does not. A fully used Tavily Growth plan brings basic search to $5 per 1,000, below Exa's rate.
  • Does Tavily charge more for twenty results than for ten?
    Not according to its credit documentation. A search costs one credit at basic, fast or ultra-fast depth and two at advanced. Setting max_results anywhere up to 20 does not change that. Asking for full page text with include_raw_content carries no surcharge in the credit rules either. The ceiling is 20 results a call.
  • How many results can Exa return in one search?
    Ten by default and up to 100 on public plans, with Enterprise contracts listing up to 1,000. The base $7 per 1,000 covers the first ten with their text, and each result beyond that adds $1 per 1,000. A 50-result search therefore costs $0.047, and a 100-result search $0.097.
  • Does Exa run its own search index?
    Exa says it does. Its documentation states that as of August 2026 the index tracks 1.4 trillion URLs and serves 100 billion pages. Its ExaSearchBot crawler respects robots.txt and noindex. Tavily's documentation says it aggregates up to 20 sites per call and ranks them, without naming the underlying source.
  • Which fits a RAG pipeline better, Tavily or Exa?
    Choosing Exa or Tavily for retrieval mostly comes down to how many sources each query needs and at what depth. Up to ten results with text favours Exa at $7 per 1,000. Twenty favours Tavily at $8 on basic depth. If the pipeline also ingests whole sites, Tavily's Map and Crawl endpoints save you building that step.
  • Did the Nebius acquisition change Tavily's pricing?
    I cannot tell you that it did or did not. Nothing on Tavily's pricing page or in its credit documentation refers to the deal as of 17 September 2026. Nebius announced an agreement to acquire Tavily on 10 February 2026, and its blog of 20 May 2026 says the acquisition happened. Nebius said Tavily keeps its brand and its founder as chief executive.
  • What rate limits do Exa and Tavily set?
    Exa allows 10 search requests a second on free and pay-as-you-go accounts. That rises to 25 for 90 days after a $1,000 credit purchase within 30 days. Tavily allows 100 requests a minute on free development keys and 1,000 on production keys, which need a paid plan or pay as you go. Converted, Exa's free tier allows six times Tavily's.
  • Can I call Tavily or Exa without an API key?
    Yes, in different ways. Tavily's Search and Extract accept keyless calls with a header, under a rate limit it does not quantify. Exa's hosted MCP server works without a key at a free rate limit. Both also accept per-request payment in USDC over x402. Exa charges $0.007 a search, capped at ten results, and Tavily $0.01 for an advanced search.
  • Is Exa's Agent cheaper than Tavily Research?
    At a fixed effort it can be, and it is predictable. Exa's Agent costs $0.012 to $1.00 a run depending on the effort you choose. Tavily Research costs 4 to 110 credits on mini and 15 to 250 on pro, which is $0.032 to $2.00 on pay as you go. Exa's default auto effort is metered up to a $5 cap, so choose the effort deliberately.
  • What do developers on Reddit say when choosing between Exa and Tavily?
    A long-running r/Rag thread on exactly this choice opened in November 2024 and is still collecting replies. It holds preferences in every direction, several vendors pitching their own tools, and cost complaints from before Exa's March 2026 repricing. Read it as a list of things to test, such as date filtering and missing forum results, rather than as a verdict.